Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: Pressroom

J. Richard Troll Scholarship Recipients & Student Packaging Design Competition Winners

Friday, September 15, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alyce Ryan
Share |

AICC, the Independent Packaging Association is pleased to announce the recipients for the 2017-2018 J. Richard Troll Scholarship and the winners of the 2017 Annual Student Packaging Design Competition. 


This year, the first-place student design winners and all scholarship recipients will receive an all-expense paid trip to the AICC 2017 Annual Meeting, which is co-located with PackExpo, and will take place September 25-27, 2017 at the Encore Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada.


All the winners in the student design competition receive a monetary award and plaque. The troll scholarship recipients receive a plaque and a monetary scholarship is sent to their respective schools for the next calendar year.    


AICC 2017 Annual Student Design Winners

Design to an Opportunity – Structural Challenge

Students had to create a “Hardware Shipper Box” to be sent to customers of a hardware store. The package had to contain 4 traditional 60-watt light bulbs and 1 16-oz traditional hammer. This challenge focused on the structure of the box so it had to withstand the rigors of courier delivery without anything being broken.

  • First Place Winners – “Symplex Set” 
     Clemson University: Jeff Burks and Ben Parkins
  •  Second Place Winners – “EZ-Bulb” 
     California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo: Austin Kron, Kevin Rivas, and Derek Breshears
  • Third Place Winners – “Eco-Light Bulb & Box” 
    California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo: Paige Topole, Simeon Comanescu, and Atlanta Nguyen


Design to an Opportunity – Graphics Challenge

Students had to design the graphics for a pet product company’s e-commerce box; a box that would be shipped directly to customers when they ordered products online. This challenge focused on the graphics of the box using one of the following processes: line or screen art, screened images, process or modified process color, or digital printing.

  • First Place Winners – “Chef Chow” 
    University of Texas at Arlington: Michaela Keck, Emily Brown, Reithna Chhoeum, and Emily Opie
  •   Second Place Winners – “Ruff N Tumble” 
    Millersville University: Brittany Myers and Eli Brill
  • Third Place Winners – “The Rolling Bones” 
    Michigan State University: Marlee Rothman


Corrugated as Art – Las Vegas Theme

Students had to design a structure of their choosing out of corrugated that was inspired by Las Vegas. The final product must be one-of-a-kind and not commercially reproducible.

  •   First Place Winners – “Bellagio Hotel & Fountain” 
    Dunwoody College of Technology: Kristin Warehime, Brann Haugen, and Kristofor Patterson



AICC 2017-2018 J. Richard Troll Scholarship Recipients

Graduate Student Recipient:

  • First Place Winner: Alyssa Harben, Michigan State University

Undergraduate Student Recipients:

  •    First Place Winner: Ryan Knudtson, University of Wisconsin-Stout
  •   Second Place Winner: Trevor Gamache, NC State University
  •    Third Place Winner: Lindsay Jessmore, Michigan State University

For more information on the annual AICC Student Packaging Design Competition and the J. Richard Troll Scholarship, please contact Laura Mihalick at 703-836-2422 or