This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Innovator of the Year
Share |

What Is the Innovator of the Year Competition?

The AICC - Board Converting News / Corrugated Today Innovator of the Year Competition is designed to recognize innovative solutions created by both AICC box plant and supplier members that enhance the efficiencies, productivity, product quality and bottom line profitability of the independent box plant.

Developed over twenty years ago as a forum for box makers and suppliers to put forward their best innovations, the Innovator of the Year has since evolved into a highly competitive arena that highlights the technological innovations of AICC members in production, material handling, manufacturing, training, and administration. Each year, the AICC Plant Innovations Committee holds a call for entries and after reviewing the submissions received from AICC members determines the finalist entries that are then voted on by AICC Annual Meeting attendees. Cosponsored by Board Converting News, the competition alternates its focus between box makers, suppliers, and non-machinery aspects of the converting industry.

An Innovator of the Year is awarded every year in the fall, in four rotating categories.

Categories and past winners:

2019 IOY Category - Information & Technology

This Category Is Open to Both Boxmaker and Associate (Supplier) Members

The Information Technology and/or Training category focuses on innovations in the information technologies and/or training fields, including Innovative software, systems and programs, unique uses of off the shelf applications, educational programs and materials, etc., that benefit the paperboard packaging industry through enhanced efficiency, quality, productivity or customer service, or enhance the knowledge and skill levels and/or safety of members of the paperboard packaging community.

The deadline to enter the competition is August 16th, 2019. The award will be given out at AICC's 2019 Annual Meeting & Package Design Competition in Toronto, Canada. Meeting registration will open June 14th!

Download 2019 IOY Entry Form


2018 Innovator of the Year Award 


Congratulations to the the five finalists for the 2018 Innovator of the Year Competition in Non-Machinery. The winner was JS Machine North America for "A System to Seamlessly Integrate All Equipment in the Manufacturing Facility."

(2nd) Kruger "A Process for Re-Fibering the Corrugated Structure"
(3rd) EFI "A System for Accurately Predicting Order Delivery Dates"
(Other finalists) Amtech & Arden Software


For questions or additional information, please contact Cindy Huber at 877-836-2422 or