This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: Pressroom

AICC’s Rising Stars

Monday, September 10, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alyce Ryan
Share |

AICC Announces the 2018-2019 J. Richard Troll Scholarship Recipients & the 2018 Student Packaging Design Competition Winners

AICC, The Independent Packaging Association, is pleased to announce the recipients for the 2018-2019 J. Richard Troll Scholarship and the winners of the 2018 Annual Student Packaging Design Competition.

This year, the first-place student design winners and all scholarship recipients will receive an all-expense paid trip to the AICC/TAPPI 2018 Corrugated Week taking place September 24-27, 2018, at the Indianapolis Convention Center in Indianapolis, Ind.

All the winners in the student design competition receive a monetary award and plaque. The troll scholarship recipients receive a plaque and a monetary scholarship is sent to their respective schools for the next calendar year.

AICC 2018 Annual Student Design Winners

The annual AICC Student Packaging Design Competition honors the best student designs entered in distinct categories and allows AICC members a glimpse into the future of the industry.


Design to an Opportunity – Structural Challenge

Students had to create a “Survival Kit” to be sent to a student in college. The package had to contain 1 bag of chips, 1 jar of peanut butter, 1 glass jar of jelly, 2 packs of ramen noodles, and 1 loaf of bread. This challenge focused on the structure of the box so it had to withstand the rigors of courier delivery without anything being broken.

  • First Place Winners – “Wicker”

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Thomas Coletti, Lara Sly, Kevin Martinez, Seena Salehian

  • Second Place Winners – “More Than Just a Box” 
    California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo: Leo McCabe, Drake Smedt, Hannah Sorensen
  • Third Place Winners – “The Hidden Surprise” 
    Virginia Tech: Luke Heffner, Cameron Jones, Louis Milton

Design to an Opportunity – Graphics Challenge

Students had to design the graphics for grocery’s store Fourth of July e-commerce box that would ship directly to customers of a fictional grocery store prior to the holiday. Theoretically, the box would contain items to host a Fourth of July picnic. This challenge focused on the graphics of the box using one of the following processes: line or screen art, screened images, process or modified process color, or digital printing.

  • First Place Winners – “Acreage Goods” 
    University of Texas at Arlington: Tadiana Martinez, Joyce Liu, Thy Hoang, Ernestina Mendez
  • Second Place Winners – “Pic Pac” 
    Appalachian State University: Abby Stark
  • Third Place Winners – “Charley’s Grocery” 
    University of Texas at Arlington: Jessica Sanchez, Shelby Mitchell, Uriel Hernandez, Stephanie Nguyen, Phong Nguyen


AICC 2018-2019 J. Richard Troll Scholarship Recipients

Each year, the trustees of the J. Richard Troll Memorial Scholarship Fund grant monetary scholarships to three undergraduate-level college or university students and one graduate-level student of exceptional quality who are majoring in packaging engineering or a related packaging field.

The J. Richard Troll Memorial Scholarship Fund was established to honor the memory of the late Mr. J. Richard Troll, a founder of AICC and the International Corrugated Packaging Foundation.

Graduate Student Recipient:

  • First Place Winner: Eric Brunk, Michigan State University

Undergraduate Student Recipients:

  • First Place Winner: Hannah Schultz, Michigan State University
  • Second Place Winner: Amanda Checkowsky, Michigan State University
  • Third Place Winner: Austin Liu, Michigan State University

For more information on the annual AICC Student Packaging Design Competition and the J. Richard Troll Scholarship, please contact Laura Mihalick at 703-836-2422 or


About AICC, The Independent Packaging Association

We are a growing membership association which has served independents since 1974, by providing access to education and information in print, in person, and online. AICC membership is for the full company- join and all employees at all locations have access to member benefits. In April 2017 AICC began offering free online education to all members to help the individual maximize their potential and the member company maximize its profit. When companies invest and engage, AICC will deliver success.